You are here

click image to enlarge

Caring Economics

Conversations on Altruism and Compassion, Between Scientists, Economists, and the Dalai Lama
Paperback Book
April, 2017
In stock now: 
We are currently out of stock of this item. You can purchase it now. It is one of these 3:

  • A regular stock item, already on order
  • A "special order only" item, which we can order in for you. For these, please expect a delay of up to 2 weeks in addition to our normal delivery times.
  • A forthcoming title (note publication date above)

Contact us:
Phone us: (from Vancouver area) 604-732-7912
(from elsewhere in Canada or U.S.) 1-800-663-8442
Email us:
$18.50 CAD
Publisher’s Description: 

Can the hyper-ambitious, bottom-line-driven practices of the global economy incorporate compassion into the pursuit of wealth? Or is economics driven solely by materialism and self-interest? In Caring Economics, experts consider these questions alongside the Dalai Lama in a wide-ranging, scientific-based discussions on economics and altruism.

Begun in 1987, the Mind and Life Institute arose out of a series of conferences held with the Dalai Lama and a range of scientists that sought to form a connection between the empiricism of contemporary scientific inquiry and the contemplative, compassion-based practices of Buddhism. Caring Economics is based on a conference held by the Mind and Life Institute in Zurich in which experts from all over the world gathered to discuss the possibility of having a global economy focused on compassion and altruism. Each chapter consists of a presentation by an expert in the field, followed by a discussion with the Dalai Lama in which he offers his response and his own unique insights on the subject.

In this provocative and inspiring book, learn how wealth doesn't need to be selfish, that in fact, empathy and compassion may be the path to a healthier world economy.

Includes a foreword by His Holiness the Dalai Lama
For readers of Michael J. Sandel, Thich Nhat Hanh, Thomas Piketty, and His Holiness the Dalai Lama

Community Reviews

Login or Register to post a review