click image to enlarge

On Gallows Down

Place, Protest and Belonging
Hardcover Book
Publisher: 
CHELSEA GREEN PUBLISHING
 | 
May, 2022
ISBN:
9781645021162
Quantity: 
0
We are currently out of stock of this item. You can purchase it now. It is one of these 3:

  • A regular stock item, already on order
  • A "special order only" item, which we can order in for you. For these, please expect a delay of up to 3 weeks in addition to our normal delivery times.
  • A forthcoming title (note publication date above)

Contact us:
Phone us: (from Vancouver area) 604-732-7912
(from elsewhere in Canada or U.S.) 1-800-663-8442
Email us: thefolks@banyen.com
$33.95 CAD
Publisher’s Description: 

"Its ever so good. Political, passionate & personal."Robert Macfarlane (via Twitter), author of Underland

Part nature writing, part memoir,On Gallows Downis an essential, unforgettable read for fans of Helen Macdonald, Terry Tempest Williams, and Robin Wall Kimmerer.

"I couldnt put it down! A must read!"Dara McAnulty (via Twitter), author ofDiary of a Young Naturalist

Nicola Chester won theBBC Wildlife Magazines Nature Writer of the Year Award this is her first book.

On Gallows Downis a powerful, personal story shaped by a landscape; one that ripples and undulates with protest, change, hope and the search for home.

From the girl catching the eye of the peace women of Greenham Common to the young woman protesting the loss of ancient and beloved trees, and as a mother raising a family in a farm cottage in the shadow of grand, country estates, this is the story of how Nicola Chestercame to write as a means of protest. The story of how she discovered therich seam of resistance that runs through her village of Newbury and its people from the English Civil War to the Swing Riots and the battle against the Newbury Bypass. And the story of the hope she finds in the rewilding of Greenham Common after the military left, the stories told by the landscapes of Watership Down, the gallows perched high on Inkpen Beacon and Highclere Castle (the setting of Downtown Abbey).

Nature is indelibly linked to belonging for Nicola. She charts her story through the walks she takes with her children across the chalk hills of the North Wessex Downs, though the song of the nightingale and the red kites, fieldfares, skylarks and lapwingsthat accompany her; the badger cubs she watches at night; the velvety mole she discovers in her garden and the cuckoo, whose return she awaits. On Gallows Downtells of how Nicola came to realize that it isshewho can decide whereshebelongs, for home is a place in nature and imagination, which must be protected through words and actions.

"We are writing for our very lives and for those wild lives we share this one, lonely planet with."Nicola Chester

Community Reviews

Login or Register to post a review