click image to enlarge

The Nazis Knew My Name

A Remarkable Story of Survival and Courage in Auschwitz
Paperback Book
Publisher: 
Atria Books
 | 
December, 2022
ISBN:
9781982181239
Quantity: 
0
We are currently out of stock of this item. You can purchase it now. It is one of these 3:

  • A regular stock item, already on order
  • A "special order only" item, which we can order in for you. For these, please expect a delay of up to 3 weeks in addition to our normal delivery times.
  • A forthcoming title (note publication date above)

Contact us:
Phone us: (from Vancouver area) 604-732-7912
(from elsewhere in Canada or U.S.) 1-800-663-8442
Email us: thefolks@banyen.com
$25.99 CAD
Publisher’s Description: 

The thought-provokingmust-read (Ariana Neumann, author of When Time Stopped) memoir by a Holocaust survivor who saved an untold number of lives at Auschwitz through everyday acts of courage and kindnessin the vein of A Bookshop in Berlin and The Nazi Officers Wife.

In March 1942, twenty-five-year-old kindergarten teacher Magda Hellinger and nearly a thousand other young women were deported as some of the first Jews to be sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp.

The SS soon discovered that by putting prisoners in charge of the day-to-day accommodation blocks, they could deflect attention away from themselves. Magda was one such prisoner selected for leadership and put in charge of hundreds of women in the notorious Experimental Block 10. She found herself constantly walking a dangerously fine line: saving lives while avoiding suspicion by the SS and risking execution. Through her inner strength and shrewd survival instincts, she was able to rise above the horror and cruelty of the camps and build pivotal relationships with the women under her watch, and even some of Auschwitzs most notorious Nazi senior officers.

Based on Magdas personal account and completed by her daughters extensive research, this is an unputdownable account of resilience and the power of compassion (Booklist) in the face of indescribable evil.

Community Reviews

Login or Register to post a review